Weekend Recap | The Importance of Photographs

This was a sad weekend for me. Saturday we laid to rest a person that has been in my life for a long time. My mother has worked for the same company for almost 30 years. So her bosses have become like extended family to us. They have watched me grow up and I have gone to the weddings of their children.

However for the last few years one of the owners has been battling liver disease. It has been a long hard road, and in the past few weeks we learned that he was being taken off of the transplant list. In a way we understand. There are many people out there in need and many with better odds of making it through the surgery than he had. That still didn’t make it any easier on us.

So last week he was sent home from the hospital with the prognosis of a few days left. The next day I got the call. It’s a very old saying but no matter how many times you live it, it still rings true, “You don’t know what you have till its gone”.

However for those of us left behind, life goes on. So Sunday afternoon was spent doing chores by my family. Including cleaning out one of our storage rooms. Yes I said one of. What can I say I have a lot of junk. 🙂 While rummaging through boxes we came across a few of them filled with old family photographs.

I don’t know about you but I love to go through old pictures. But yesterday the importance of these photos hit me. None of us will be here forever. It’s up to us to give the loved ones we left behind tidbits of the memories we have created. Photographs aren’t just prints on paper, they are parts of our lives for others to remember us by.

(but they are also fun to look at)

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Tanya Lawson

     /  April 1, 2012

    That was a beautiful tribute….and Brent was so cute with that hair cut!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

